I was having a conversation with someone recently whose 80-year-old father is currently sick with lung cancer. He smoked much of his youth, and when his son asked him why he even started smoking, he replied that it was simply culturally acceptable during that era: You'd sit down to talk to your doctor during your checkup, and the first thing he'd do was offer you a cigarette. It's shocking to hear that today when we're all too aware of the health dangers of first- and second-hand smoke.
Many drivers, however, haven't gotten the memo, or simply need some extra motivation to keep from lighting up in cars when children are present.
Related: More Family News
Virginia is the latest state to take anti-smoking laws one step further; it's trying to protect children from the dangers of second-hand smoke in cars. If the law is enacted, it would fine a driver $100 for smoking in a car with a passenger younger than 8. That money would go directly to help fund literacy efforts in Virginia. Cars are private property; is the state going too far?